AND STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION RULE

HUMAN SEXUALITY

INSTRUCTION

HEALTH EDUCATION, SCIENCE, ADULT

ROLES CLASSES

UTAH STATE LAW MANDATES:

- That instruction shall stress the importance of abstinence from all sexual activity before marriage and fidelity after marriage as methods for preventing certain communicable diseases.
- Instruction in human sexuality shall be consistent and systematic in grades 7 through 12.

UTAH STATE LAW MANDATES:

- Teachers will comply with the parental consent requirements.
- Schools will instruct students in community and personal health, physiology, personal hygiene, and prevention of communicable disease.

State Board of Education Rule and Utah State Law Mandates:



The following may NOT be taught:

- The intricacies of intercourse, sexual stimulation, or erotic behavior;
- The advocacy of homosexuality;
- The advocacy or encouragement of contraceptive methods or devices;
- The advocacy of sexual activity outside of marriage.

State Board of Education Rule:

USOE Will:

- Approve all sexuality education programs through the State Instructional Materials Commission.
- Approve only medically accurate programs.
- Provide annual in-service programs and training on law and rules specific to human sexuality instruction for new and/or newly assigned teachers of human sexuality instruction.

State Board of Education Rule:

USOE Will:

- Provide a parent/guardian consent form with the guidelines that all schools will use.
- Receive and track parent and community complaints/comments.

State Board of Education Rule:

Course materials and instruction must be free from bias related to the following:

- Religious
- Racial
- Ethnic
- Gender



School District Responsibilities:

- Assure that all new and newly assigned teachers attend the state-sponsored inservice.
- Provide in-service update related to law/rule every 3 years
- Establish a review
 committee to approve
 sexuality programs and
 guest speakers.
- Consider first those programs on the RIMS database.
- law/rule every 3 years. Use the USOE parental consent form.

School District Responsibilities:



- Record all complaints and comments.
- Report all materials not approved by the USOE.

- Work with parents (if requested) who have opted their children out of a course.
- Approve only medically accurate materials.
- May instruct in gender-separate settings.

School Educator Responsibilities:

- Participate in state and district inservice.
- Use the statedeveloped parental consent form.

 Individually record parent and community complaints, comments, and educator responses.



Utah School Educators May...



...respond to *spontaneous* student questions for the purposes of providing accurate data or correcting inaccurate or

misleading information or comments made by students in class regarding human sexuality (answers must be scientifically accurate).

Choose to answer





School Educator Accountability:



If an educator
willfully violates a
law or the State
Board of Education
rule, they may face
sanctions by the
Commission.

Counselor, Nurse, or Other Guest Speaker Responsibilities:

- School counselors, nurses, and/or guest speakers must follow the same guidelines as teachers when providing instruction- extension of you.
- Guest speakers from outside the school system must be approved by the local review committee.



Parent Rights/Responsibilities:

- Review materials
- Sign the consent form with an option identified
- May exempt child from instruction (on parents' schedule)
- Instruct child in information missed in school



Materials/Instruction That Require Parental Consent As Indicated On Consent Form:

- Reproductive anatomy and health
- Contraception, including condoms
- Human reproduction

- HIV/AIDS
- Sexually transmitted disease
- Information on selfexams
- Rape/Date Rape

Procedures for Consent:

- Use the USOE consent form.
- Form may be sent within the first two weeks of class.



- Send the form home <u>at least</u> two weeks prior to the instruction, activity, etc.
- Written consent MUST be received PRIOR to instruction.
- If a form is not returned, there is NO consent and instruction shall NOT be given.
- No implied consent

Parent and School Educator Responsibilities:



If a student is exempted from material required by the Board-approved core curriculum course, the parent shall take respon-

sibility for the student learning the required course material.

Procedures for Opted-Out Students:

- If requested, provide parents with materials for home instruction.
- Arrange for a <u>supervised</u> place within the school for the student to report during class time.
- Provide an alternative assignment (if appropriate).
- Make arrangements with student prior to class time.
- Do not test on information missed by opting out.

